Cardiology · Medical Literature

OCT-Defined Plaque Morphology and Clinical Outcomes After Percutaneous Coronary Intervention: An ILUMIEN IV Substudy.

Abstract

Optical coherence tomography (OCT) can differentiate plaque morphology (fibrous, lipidic, and calcified) within atherosclerotic lesions. The prognostic impact of predominant OCT plaque type after percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) is unclear. The aim of this study was to investigate clinical outcomes after PCI based on the preprocedural predominant plaque morphology from the OCT cohort of the ILUMIEN IV trial. Subjects assigned to OCT guidance (n = 1,233) underwent core laboratory analysis to determine predominant lesion plaque morphology: lipidic (maximum arc ≥180° or thin-cap fibroatheroma), calcific (maximum arc ≥180°), or fibrotic. The primary endpoint was target-vessel failure (TVF), a composite of cardiac death, target-vessel myocardial infarction, or ischemia-driven target-vessel revascularization (ID-TVR). PCI of a single de novo lesion was performed in 926 patients. By OCT, the plaque was predominantly lipidic, calcific, and fibrotic in 309 (33%), 252 (27%), and 365 (39%) cases, respectively. After multivariable adjustment, patients undergoing PCI of a predominantly calcific lesion had increased rates of TVF (10.7% vs 4.0%; adjusted HR: 2.20 [95% CI: 1.12-4.33]; P = 0.02) driven by greater ID-TVR (8.2% vs 3.1%; adjusted HR: 2.31 [95% CI: 1.08-4.96]; P = 0.03) compared with PCI of a fibrotic lesion. Event rates in patients undergoing PCI of a predominantly lipidic lesion were intermediate (TVF 5.6% and ID-TVR 4.0%). Based on preprocedural OCT, PCI of calcific and fibrotic plaques was associated with the highest and lowest 2-year rates of TVF and ID-TVR, respectively, with lipidic plaques being of intermediate risk. This is the first report from a large-scale clinical trial that demonstrates the prognostic utility of baseline OCT plaque morphology on post-PCI outcomes. (ILUMIEN IV: OPTIMAL Percutaneous Coronary Intervention [PCI]; NCT03507777).

Clinical relevance

Does preprocedural OCT-defined predominant plaque morphology (lipidic, calcific, or fibrotic) predict 2-year clinical outcomes — specifically target-vessel failure — after PCI in patients enrolled in the OCT-guided arm of the ILUMIEN IV trial? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Pre-specified substudy of a prospective, single-blind randomized controlled trial (ILUMIEN IV; NCT03507777); this analysis is observational within the OCT-guided arm only","setting":"Multicontinental; 80 sites across 18 countries including North America, Europe, the Middle East, and Asia-Pacific region","sampleSize":"n=1,233 assigned to OCT guidance underwent core laboratory plaque morphology analysis; n=926 with a single de novo lesion constituted the primary analytic cohort (lipidic: n=309 [33%]; calcific: n=252 [27%]; fibrotic: n=365 [39%])","population":"Patients with medication-treated diabetes mellitus and/or complex coronary artery lesions (long/multiple lesions, bifurcation with 2-stent strategy, severe calcification, chronic total occlusion, or in-stent restenosis) undergoing elective or semi-elective PCI of a single de novo lesion","intervention":"Preprocedural OCT-based characterization of predominant lesion plaque morphology (lipidic: maximum lipid arc ≥180° or thin-cap fibroatheroma; calcific: maximum calcium arc ≥180°; fibrotic: neither lipidic nor calcific threshold met), used as an exposure variable to stratify post-PCI outcomes","comparator":"Pairwise comparisons among the three plaque morphology groups (calcific vs. fibrotic as primary contrast; lipidic as intermediate comparator); no separate control arm — this is a within-arm prognostic substudy","primaryOutcome":"Target-vessel failure (TVF) at 2 years: composite of cardiac death, target-vessel myocardial infarction (TV-MI), or ischemia-driven target-vessel revascularization (ID-TVR)","followUp":"2 years","fundingSource":"Industry (Abbott Vascular)"}

Key findings

Among 926 patients with a single de novo lesion undergoing OCT-guided PCI, the 2-year TVF rate was highest in the calcific plaque group (10.7%) and lowest in the fibrotic group (4.0%), with lipidic plaques yielding an intermediate rate (not explicitly reported in the available abstract). After multivariable adjustment, predominantly calcific lesions were independently associated with a significantly increased risk of TVF compared with fibrotic lesions (adjusted HR: 2.20; 95% CI: 1.12–4.33; p=0.02). The absolute risk difference between calcific and fibrotic groups was 6.7 percentage points (calculated), corresponding to an NNH of approximately 15 (calculated) for calcific vs. fibrotic plaque at 2 years. The increased TVF in the calcific group was stated to be 'driven by greater' rates of a component endpoint — the abstract is truncated before specifying which component (ID-TVR vs. TV-MI vs. cardiac death) was primarily responsible; this detail is not available from the abstract alone. The 2-year TVF rate for lipidic plaques and associated hazard ratios relative to fibrotic or calcific plaques were not reported in the available abstract. Adverse events beyond TVF components (e.g., bleeding, procedural complications) were not reported in the abstract.

Practice implications

This substudy establishes, for the first time from a large-scale RCT, that preprocedural OCT-defined plaque morphology carries independent prognostic information after OCT-guided PCI: calcific plaques confer the highest 2-year TVF risk, fibrotic plaques the lowest, and lipidic plaques an intermediate risk. The finding that calcific lesions — even when treated with OCT guidance — remain a high-risk substrate is clinically meaningful and consistent with prior data showing that coronary calcification is associated with suboptimal stent expansion and adverse outcomes. The absolute risk difference of 6.7 percentage points (calculated) between calcific and fibrotic groups is potentially clinically important, though the wide confidence interval (HR 1.12–4.33) signals imprecision. Critically, this analysis is restricted to the OCT-guided arm of ILUMIEN IV; it does not address whether angiography-guided PCI of calcific lesions yields similar or worse outcomes, nor does it randomize patients to different management strategies based on plaque type. As such, it is prognostic rather than interventional — it does not directly demonstrate that plaque morphology-guided treatment modification improves outcomes. The study population (diabetes/complex lesions, high-risk by design) limits generalizability to lower-risk patient populations or simple lesion subsets. Only abstract data are available; the lipidic plaque TVF rate, driving component of calcific TVF excess, subgroup analyses, and secondary endpoint results are not assessable, representing a significant interpretive limitation. __LIMITATIONS__ Substudy restricted to the OCT-guided arm only — no comparator arm for plaque morphology effects, precluding causal inference about morphology-directed treatment strategies,Only abstract available; key data (lipidic group absolute TVF rate, TVF-driving component in calcific lesions, secondary endpoint results, subgroup analyses) are not reported or truncated,Observational within-arm design despite originating from an RCT — residual confounding is possible despite multivariable adjustment; unmeasured confounders (e.g., lesion preparation techniques, calcium modification device use, post-PCI stent metrics) may explain part of the association,Single de novo lesion restriction (n=926 of 1,233 OCT-guided patients) introduces selection bias and reduces generalizability to patients with multivessel or complex multi-lesion disease,Plaque morphology classification is dichotomized (predominant type only), ignoring mixed or co-existing morphologies that may be more clinically representative,Sample size may be underpowered to detect differences in individual TVF components (cardiac death, TV-MI, ID-TVR) separately, and the wide CI on the primary HR supports this concern,Industry funding (Abbott Vascular) introduces potential sponsorship bias; multiple author conflicts of interest reported,Population enriched for diabetes and complex lesions — results may not apply to lower-risk or non-diabetic patients undergoing PCI of simple lesions,2-year follow-up may be insufficient to capture late stent-related events, particularly relevant for calcific lesions where long-term stent underexpansion consequences may emerge later,No information on calcium modification strategies (e.g., rotational atherectomy, intravascular lithotripsy) used in the calcific group, which could be a major mediator of outcomes __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ potentially_practice_informing __BOTTOM_LINE__ In OCT-guided PCI, preprocedural calcific plaque morphology is independently associated with a more than two-fold increase in 2-year target-vessel failure compared with fibrotic plaque (adjusted HR 2.20; 95% CI 1.12–4.33), while fibrotic plaque confers the lowest risk and lipidic plaque an intermediate risk. This is the first large-scale RCT-derived evidence that baseline OCT plaque morphology has independent prognostic value after PCI; however, it does not yet define a specific treatment algorithm. Clinicians should recognize predominantly calcific lesions as a persistently high-risk substrate even under OCT guidance, reinforcing the rationale for aggressive lesion preparation and close post-PCI optimization — but practice-changing protocols await prospective testing of morphology-directed management strategies.

Evidence appraisal

Evidence quality rating
5/10
Clinical applicability score
5/10