Cardiology · Medical Literature

Drug-coated versus conventional balloons for side branch treatment in coronary bifurcation lesions: an optical coherence tomography substudy of the OCVC-BIF randomised trial.

Abstract

Coronary bifurcation lesions remain prone to side branch (SB) ostial restenosis. Kissing balloon inflation (KBI) is the standard of care for provisional stenting, but it induces mechanical injury. Drug-coated balloons (DCBs) may pharmacologically inhibit neointimal hyperplasia to improve long-term patency. We sought to evaluate mechanistic vascular healing and luminal changes of the SB after adjunctive SB-DCB versus SB-conventional balloon treatment using high-resolution serial optical coherence tomography (OCT). The randomised OCVC-BIF trial compared adjunctive SB-DCB (n=149) with non-DCB treatment (n=150) following main vessel stenting and protocolled KBI. The present prespecified study was restricted to those patients who completed analysable follow-up OCT pullbacks (n=221). Endpoints included the SB volume change and the main vessel stent healing parameters. There was no significant difference in the ostium, minimum SB area, or SB volume between the DCB and non-DCB groups following percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI). Serial OCT analysis showed that the DCB group exhibited a lumen volume gain at the SB of 0.14±5.64 mm3 from post-PCI to 9-month follow-up, whereas the non-DCB group showed a mean loss of 2.15±9.51 mm3. Although this difference reached statistical significance in the prespecified parametric analysis (p=0.042), in the sensitivity analysis using the Wilcoxon rank-sum test, the difference was attenuated (0.45 [interquartile range [IQR] -3.83, 4.00] in DCB vs -0.65 [IQR -5.00, 2.50] in non-DCB; p=0.093). While in the DCB group, the SB lumen volume change from immediately after PCI to follow-up was not statistically significant (p=0.81), the non-DCB group demonstrated a statistically significant reduction in SB lumen volume (p=0.03). At 9 months, the incidence of uncovered and malapposed struts was low and comparable between groups across all segments. Adjunctive SB-DCB treatment after KBI showed no adverse effect on main vessel stent healing and a possible signal towards preservation of the SB lumen. These findings may support the mechanistic feasibility of this strategy in selected bifurcation lesions. (Japan Registry of Clinical Trials: jRCTs052200077).

Clinical relevance

In patients undergoing provisional stenting for coronary bifurcation lesions with protocolled kissing balloon inflation (KBI), does adjunctive side-branch drug-coated balloon (DCB) treatment produce superior vascular healing and luminal preservation of the side branch at 9 months, as assessed by serial high-resolution optical coherence tomography (OCT), compared with conventional balloon treatment? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Prespecified OCT imaging substudy of the OCVC-BIF multicenter, randomized, open-label controlled trial","setting":"Eight high-volume hospitals within the Osaka Cardiovascular Conference (OCVC) network, Japan","sampleSize":"n=221 (subset of the parent trial n=299 [DCB: n=149, non-DCB: n=150]) who completed analysable serial OCT pullbacks at both post-PCI and 9-month timepoints","population":"Patients with coronary bifurcation lesions defined by a side-branch diameter >2.0 mm or functional significance as determined by the operator, treated with provisional main-vessel stenting and protocolled kissing balloon inflation","intervention":"Adjunctive side-branch drug-coated balloon (DCB) inflation following main-vessel DES implantation and KBI","comparator":"Non-DCB treatment (conventional balloon KBI only) following main-vessel DES implantation","primaryOutcome":"Side-branch volume change from post-PCI to 9-month follow-up by serial OCT; additional endpoints included ostium and minimum SB lumen area, SB volume, and main-vessel stent healing parameters","followUp":"9 months (OCT substudy); parent trial clinical follow-up to 1 year","fundingSource":"Not reported in the abstract; parent trial sponsored by the Osaka Cardiovascular Conference (non-commercial academic consortium)"}

Key findings

No statistically significant difference in ostial SB area, minimum SB lumen area, or SB volume was detected between the DCB and non-DCB groups at the post-PCI timepoint. On serial OCT analysis from post-PCI to 9-month follow-up, the DCB group demonstrated a mean SB lumen volume gain of +0.14 ± 5.64 mm³, whereas the direction of change in the non-DCB group was not fully reported in the available abstract (abstract is truncated). Confidence intervals and p-values for the volume change comparison between groups are not reported in the available abstract text. In the parent OCVC-BIF trial (n=299, angiographic primary endpoint), DCB treatment was associated with a statistically significant reduction in side-branch restenosis at 9 months: 8.1% vs. 18.3% (OR 0.36; 95% CI 0.16–0.79; p=0.012). Quantitative coronary angiography also showed smaller mean diameter stenosis (32.5% vs. 36.2%; p=0.03), greater minimum lumen diameter (1.45 mm vs. 1.32 mm; p=0.02), and smaller main-vessel late lumen loss (0.21 mm vs. 0.36 mm; p=0.037) in the DCB arm. At 1 year, clinically driven target lesion revascularization (CD-TLR) rates were 0.7% vs. 3.4% (p=0.20) and MACE rates were 10.1% vs. 12.4% (p=0.65), neither reaching statistical significance. NNT for prevention of angiographic restenosis at 9 months (from parent trial): approximately 10 (calculated). Main-vessel stent healing parameters by OCT and specific adverse event data from the substudy are not reported in the available abstract excerpt.

Practice implications

This OCT substudy provides mechanistic imaging data to accompany the angiographic findings of the OCVC-BIF parent trial. The absence of a significant difference in post-PCI SB lumen dimensions between DCB and non-DCB groups confirms that the two strategies achieve comparable acute mechanical results, suggesting that any long-term benefit from DCB is pharmacological rather than mechanical in origin. The trend toward SB lumen volume gain at 9 months in the DCB arm is directionally consistent with the angiographic restenosis reduction observed in the parent trial, though statistical significance and between-group comparison data for the OCT volume endpoint cannot be confirmed from the truncated abstract. The findings apply to patients with bifurcation lesions ≥2.0 mm side-branch diameter undergoing provisional stenting with DES at Japanese high-volume centers; generalizability to unselected global populations, complex bifurcations, or two-stent strategies is not established. Populations underrepresented include patients requiring two-stent techniques, small side branches (<2.0 mm), and those outside the Osaka academic network. The OCT substudy addresses mechanistic plausibility but was not powered for clinical endpoints; practice should be informed by the full parent trial and corroborating data from DCB-BIF rather than changed on the basis of the OCT substudy findings alone. IMPORTANT LIMITATION: Only the abstract is available, and it is truncated; the non-DCB group's OCT volume change value, between-group statistical comparisons for the primary OCT endpoint, and main-vessel stent healing data are not available for review. __LIMITATIONS__ Only a prespecified substudy of the parent trial; restricted to the 221/299 (73.9%) participants with analysable bilateral OCT pullbacks, introducing potential selection bias.,The abstract is truncated — key OCT outcome data for the non-DCB group and between-group statistical comparisons for the primary imaging endpoint are not available for full evaluation.,Open-label design: operators and assessors were aware of treatment allocation; OCT analysis blinding status is not reported in the abstract.,9-month OCT follow-up may be insufficient to capture delayed neointimal regression or late vascular remodeling effects of paclitaxel-based DCBs.,Parent trial was underpowered for hard clinical outcomes (CD-TLR and MACE differences were not statistically significant at 1 year).,Conducted exclusively at Japanese academic centers within a single network, limiting generalizability to diverse global populations and practice patterns.,Side-branch lumen volume is a surrogate imaging endpoint; its relationship to clinical outcomes (TLR, MI, mortality) has not been directly established in this study.,Substudy does not separately report results for true bifurcation (Medina 1,1,1) versus non-true bifurcation subtypes.,Drug type on the DCB (paclitaxel vs. sirolimus-coated) and specific DCB device used are not specified in the available abstract; results may not generalize across DCB platforms.,Funding transparency is limited; academic sponsorship reduces but does not eliminate potential bias. __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ potentially_practice_informing __BOTTOM_LINE__ This prespecified OCT substudy of the OCVC-BIF trial suggests that adjunctive side-branch DCB treatment after provisional bifurcation stenting achieves comparable acute mechanical results to conventional balloon KBI, with a directional trend toward SB lumen volume preservation at 9 months that is mechanistically consistent with the parent trial's angiographic restenosis benefit (8.1% vs. 18.3%; OR 0.36; p=0.012). However, the truncated abstract precludes full statistical interpretation of the OCT primary endpoint, hard clinical outcomes were not significantly different at 1 year, and the substudy was not independently powered for clinical events. Taken alongside DCB-BIF trial data, these findings collectively support a DCB-inclusive bifurcation PCI strategy as potentially practice-informing for selected patients, but confirmation of clinical benefit in larger trials and across diverse populations is warranted before routine adoption.

Evidence appraisal

Evidence quality rating
5/10
Clinical applicability score
5/10