Neurology · Medical Literature

Treatment of Clinically Diagnosed Alzheimer's Disease by External Counterpulsation A Randomized Clinical Trial.

Abstract

ObjectiveTo assess external counterpulsation (ECP) effects on cognitive and functional decline in early AD.MethodsThis 12-month, multicenter, blinded, randomized, sham-controlled trial enrolled 190 patients with early AD (MCI due to AD or mild AD per NIA-AA clinical criteria). Participants received either full-pressure ECP (150-300 mmHg) or sham (25 mmHg): 3-5 weekly one-hour sessions for 35 treatments, then twice-weekly through six months. Assessments occurred at baseline and weeks 6, 12, 18, 24, 36, and 52. Primary endpoints included ADCS-ADL, ADAS-cog-14, and VADAS-cog.ResultsFull-pressure ECP significantly improved ADCS-ADL scores versus sham (mean change 2.57 vs. -0.49; p=0.036) and VADAS-cog scores (9.95 vs. 5.22; p=0.005) at 12-24 weeks. Benefits persisted through 52 weeks despite treatment cessation at 6 months. No serious device-related adverse events occurred.ConclusionsFull-pressure ECP therapy significantly improved cognition and ADL compared to sham treatment in early AD. ECP represents a novel therapeutic approach warranting further investigation.

Clinical relevance

Does full-pressure external counterpulsation (ECP) therapy (150–300 mmHg), compared with sham ECP (25 mmHg), improve cognitive performance and activities of daily living in patients with early Alzheimer's disease over 12 months? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Randomized, multicenter, blinded, sham-controlled trial","setting":"Multicenter; United States (specific sites not reported in abstract; Renew Research trial infrastructure previously described at multiple US sites)","sampleSize":"n=190; allocation ratio not explicitly stated in abstract (prior conference abstract suggested n=95 per arm); exact per-arm n for this publication not reported in abstract","population":"Adults with early Alzheimer's disease diagnosed by NIA-AA clinical criteria, encompassing MCI due to AD or mild AD dementia","intervention":"Full-pressure ECP using the Renew Cerezen™ device at 150–300 mmHg inflation pressure, ECG-synchronized, 1-hour sessions; 3–5 sessions per week for 35 total treatments, then twice-weekly through 6 months","comparator":"Sham ECP at 25 mmHg, with ECG leads placed but device controlled by a hidden ECG simulator (non-synchronized) to maintain blinding","primaryOutcome":"Three co-primary endpoints: (1) ADCS-ADL (Alzheimer's Disease Cooperative Study – Activities of Daily Living), (2) ADAS-cog-14 (Alzheimer's Disease Assessment Scale – Cognitive Subscale, 14-item), and (3) VADAS-cog (Vascular Dementia Assessment Scale – Cognitive Subscale)","followUp":"12 months total; active treatment through 6 months, then observation-only phase through 52 weeks; assessments at baseline and weeks 6, 12, 18, 24, 36, and 52","fundingSource":"Industry (device developed and studied in partnership with Renew Research / Stage II Innovations; lead author affiliated with Stage II Innovations; at least one co-author listed as Renew Research employee per prior conference disclosures); government or non-profit co-funding not reported in abstract"}

Key findings

Among the three co-primary endpoints, statistically significant benefits for full-pressure ECP were demonstrated on two of three measures. For the ADCS-ADL (functional outcome), mean change from baseline was +2.57 in the ECP group versus −0.49 in the sham group (between-group difference: 3.06 points [calculated]; p=0.036). For VADAS-cog (cognitive outcome), mean change was 9.95 in the ECP group versus 5.22 in the sham group (between-group difference: 4.73 points [calculated]; p=0.005). Significance windows for both outcomes were specified as 12–24 weeks. Results for the ADAS-cog-14 (third co-primary endpoint) were not reported as significant in the abstract; its outcome data are not further detailed in the abstract. Benefits on ADCS-ADL and VADAS-cog persisted through the 52-week assessment, occurring 6 months after active treatment cessation. Clinical Global Impression of Change (CGIC) odds of improvement were reported as approximately 2–3 times higher in the ECP group across multiple follow-up visits per supplementary source. No serious device-related adverse events were reported; no brain edema or hemorrhage was observed on follow-up MRI per post-publication source. NNT cannot be calculated from the abstract as dichotomous responder rates were not reported. Confidence intervals for between-group differences were not reported in the abstract.

Practice implications

This trial provides the first multicenter RCT evidence that a non-pharmacologic, vascular-based intervention (ECP) can produce statistically significant improvements in both functional status and cognition in patients with early AD over a 6-month treatment course, with apparent durability of effect through 12 months. However, several interpretive cautions are essential. First, this summary is based solely on the published abstract; the full dataset, including confidence intervals, per-protocol and intention-to-treat analyses, attrition rates, and baseline balance, is unavailable for independent assessment. Second, the ADAS-cog-14 — a widely accepted regulatory-grade cognitive endpoint — did not achieve significance, which limits the strength of the cognitive efficacy claim. Third, the absolute between-group differences on ADCS-ADL (~3 points) and VADAS-cog (~4.7 points) require contextualization against published minimally clinically important differences (MCIDs) for each scale, which cannot be adjudicated from the abstract alone. Fourth, the trial uses clinical (not biomarker-confirmed) AD diagnosis, raising concern for diagnostic heterogeneity including inclusion of patients without true AD pathology. Fifth, the sham design (25 mmHg non-synchronized treatment with surface ECG leads) may not have been fully credible to patients or raters, raising concerns about unblinding and performance bias. Sixth, given prominent industry ties — including device manufacturer involvement in trial conduct — independent replication is particularly important before clinical adoption. The findings apply specifically to patients with MCI due to AD or mild AD; patients with moderate-to-severe AD, significant cardiac comorbidity excluding cuff use, or biomarker-negative presentations were not represented. __LIMITATIONS__ 1. Abstract-only access: full statistical reporting (95% confidence intervals, ITT vs. per-protocol sensitivity analyses, attrition, baseline covariate balance) is not assessable. 2. Third co-primary endpoint (ADAS-cog-14) did not reach significance, representing a partial primary outcome failure that must be weighted carefully. 3. Clinical-only AD diagnosis (NIA-AA criteria without mandatory amyloid/tau biomarker confirmation) introduces diagnostic heterogeneity and risks inclusion of non-AD patients, inflating apparent effect. 4. Sham credibility: low-pressure (25 mmHg), non-synchronized sham may produce perceptibly different physical sensations than full-pressure ECP, raising concern for inadequate blinding of participants and potentially raters. 5. Moderately small sample size (n=190 with probable ~95/arm) limits power for subgroup analyses and increases Type I error risk across three co-primary endpoints without explicit multiplicity correction described. 6. Industry sponsorship and investigator financial ties to the device manufacturer (Renew Research/Stage II Innovations) represent a significant conflict of interest that historically inflates effect size estimates. 7. Mechanism of action on AD pathology (amyloid, tau, neurodegeneration) is unestablished; proposed vascular mechanism is biologically plausible but unproven in this population. 8. Generalizability is limited: physically frail patients, those with vascular contraindications, or those at advanced disease stages were likely excluded. 9. No pharmacokinetic or biomarker endpoints (amyloid PET, tau PET, CSF, plasma pTau) were described in the abstract, precluding any inference about disease modification versus symptomatic benefit. __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ promising_but_preliminary __BOTTOM_LINE__ This multicenter sham-controlled RCT reports that full-pressure ECP therapy improved functional status (ADCS-ADL) and one cognitive measure (VADAS-cog) over 12 months in early AD, with effects persisting 6 months after treatment cessation and no serious device-related adverse events; however, the third co-primary cognitive endpoint (ADAS-cog-14) did not reach significance, the trial relies on clinical-only AD diagnosis, and prominent industry sponsorship mandates cautious interpretation. ECP represents a biologically plausible and potentially safe non-pharmacologic approach warranting independent replication with biomarker-confirmed AD cohorts and blinded raters before any consideration for routine clinical practice.

Evidence appraisal

Evidence quality rating
5/10
Clinical applicability score
5/10