Oncology · Medical Literature
First-Line Sunvozertinib in NSCLC with EGFR Exon 20 Insertion Mutations
Abstract
New England Journal of Medicine, Ahead of Print.
Clinical relevance
In treatment-naive patients with advanced nonsquamous NSCLC harboring EGFR exon 20 insertion mutations, does sunvozertinib monotherapy improve progression-free survival compared with platinum-based doublet chemotherapy (carboplatin–pemetrexed) as first-line treatment? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Multinational, open-label, randomized, confirmatory phase 3 trial (WU-KONG28; NCT05668988)","setting":"16 countries and regions across Asia, Europe, North America, and South America; multi-institutional academic and community cancer centers","sampleSize":"n=324 (sunvozertinib: n=163; chemotherapy: n=161); enrollment period December 2022 – May 2025; data cutoff January 16, 2026","population":"Adults ≥18 years with histologically or cytologically confirmed stage IIIB, IIIC, or IV nonsquamous NSCLC with confirmed EGFR exon 20 insertion mutation, ECOG PS 0–1, measurable disease, no prior systemic therapy; exclusions included leptomeningeal metastases, concurrent EGFR mutations, and recent stroke or intracranial hemorrhage; 63% of patients were Asian","intervention":"Sunvozertinib 300 mg orally once daily until disease progression or other discontinuation criteria","comparator":"Carboplatin AUC=5 plus pemetrexed 500 mg/m² IV every 3 weeks for up to 4–6 cycles (per investigator discretion), followed by pemetrexed maintenance until disease progression; crossover to sunvozertinib was permitted upon confirmed progressive disease by blinded independent central review (BICR)","primaryOutcome":"Progression-free survival (PFS) as assessed by blinded independent central review (BICR) per RECIST v1.1","followUp":"Not reported (data cutoff January 16, 2026; enrollment completed May 2025)","fundingSource":"Industry (Dizal Pharmaceuticals)"}
Key findings
Sunvozertinib significantly prolonged BICR-assessed median PFS compared with chemotherapy (10.3 months [95% CI, 8.3–14.0] vs. 7.5 months [95% CI, 6.7–8.5]; HR 0.65 [95% CI, 0.50–0.85]; P=0.0008), representing a 35% reduction in the risk of disease progression or death. The absolute PFS gain was 2.8 months (calculated). The objective response rate (ORR) was 58.9% with sunvozertinib vs. 31.1% with chemotherapy, representing a 27.8 percentage-point difference (calculated). Median best percentage change in tumor size was −42.1% vs. −24.7%, respectively. Median duration of response (DOR) was 11.2 months with sunvozertinib vs. 7.1 months with chemotherapy. Overall survival data were immature at the time of primary analysis and are not yet reportable. NNT for an objective response at the observed rates: not calculable from abstract data alone. Regarding safety, grade ≥3 adverse events occurred in 75.5% of patients receiving sunvozertinib vs. 56.7% in the chemotherapy group. Grade ≥3 treatment-related adverse events (TRAEs) were observed in 61.3% vs. 49.3%, respectively. The most common grade ≥3 events in the sunvozertinib arm were elevated serum creatine kinase (20.9%), diarrhea (14.1%), and anemia (9.2%); the elevated creatine kinase events were characterized by the investigators as largely asymptomatic laboratory abnormalities. In the chemotherapy arm prior to crossover, the most common grade ≥3 events were decreased neutrophil count (18.7%) and anemia (11.3%). Serious adverse events occurred in 45.4% vs. 26.7% of patients. Dose reductions were more frequent with sunvozertinib (40.5% vs. 24%), but treatment discontinuation due to drug-related adverse events was lower with sunvozertinib (7.4% vs. 11.3%). No treatment-related deaths occurred in the sunvozertinib arm; one treatment-related death (pneumonia) was reported in the chemotherapy arm. All-grade TRAEs occurring in >20% of sunvozertinib patients included diarrhea (84.0%; grade ≥3, 13.5%), elevated creatine phosphokinase (55.2%; grade ≥3, 20.2%), rash (51.5%; grade ≥3, 0.6%), and paronychia (48.5%; grade ≥3, 3.7%).
Practice implications
⚠️ Only the abstract and contemporaneous conference/press reports are available; the full manuscript was published May 29, 2026 in NEJM (DOI: 10.1056/NEJMoa2604461), but complete data tables, subgroup analyses, and methods sections were not directly accessible for this summary. This limitation should be considered when evaluating the precision of reported values. What the study established: WU-KONG28 demonstrates that first-line sunvozertinib monotherapy is statistically superior to platinum-doublet chemotherapy for BICR-assessed PFS and ORR in treatment-naive advanced nonsquamous NSCLC harboring EGFR exon 20 insertion mutations. The 2.8-month absolute PFS gain and nearly doubling of the ORR (58.9% vs. 31.1%) represent clinically meaningful differences in this population, which has historically had poor outcomes and been excluded from benefit with earlier-generation EGFR TKIs. What the study did not establish: Overall survival data are immature; a definitive OS benefit has not yet been demonstrated. The high crossover rate from chemotherapy to sunvozertinib will almost certainly confound any eventual OS comparison. CNS activity was not adequately characterized, as brain metastases were present in only 12% of enrolled patients at baseline. Comparative efficacy versus amivantamab plus chemotherapy (the current alternative first-line evidence-based regimen) was not assessed in this trial. Applicability: Results are most directly applicable to ECOG PS 0–1 patients with confirmed EGFR exon 20 insertion mutations in advanced nonsquamous NSCLC, without leptomeningeal disease or recent cerebrovascular events. With 63% of patients being Asian, generalizability to predominantly non-Asian populations should be interpreted with some caution, though the trial was multinational. Patients with squamous histology, ECOG PS ≥2, or concurrent EGFR mutations were excluded. Safety context: The elevated rate of grade ≥3 adverse events (75.5%) in the sunvozertinib arm warrants careful patient counseling. However, the dominant driver—asymptomatic creatine kinase elevation (20.9% grade ≥3)—may represent a monitoring burden rather than a clinically consequential toxicity. Treatment-related discontinuation was actually lower with sunvozertinib than with chemotherapy, and no treatment-related deaths occurred. Regulatory status: Sunvozertinib has received accelerated approval in the U.S. and China for the post-platinum setting; a first-line NDA has been accepted with Priority Review designation in China based on these results. The FDA first-line indication has not yet been granted. __LIMITATIONS__ Open-label design introduces potential assessment bias, though BICR mitigates bias in the primary PFS endpoint.,Overall survival data are immature, and the high permitted crossover rate from chemotherapy to sunvozertinib will substantially confound future OS analysis, making a meaningful OS comparison unlikely.,Industry sponsorship by Dizal Pharmaceuticals; several investigators (including the presenter, J.V. Heymach) have disclosed financial relationships with relevant pharmaceutical companies.,63% Asian enrollment may limit generalizability to Western populations, though the trial was multinational across 16 countries.,No head-to-head comparison with amivantamab plus chemotherapy (PAPILLON regimen), the other evidence-based first-line option; selection of the best first-line targeted or chemo-targeted regimen remains unanswered.,Brain metastases present in only 12% of patients; intracranial activity of sunvozertinib was not robustly characterized in this trial.,EGFR exon 20 insertion mutations are highly heterogeneous (>100 subtypes); subgroup efficacy across specific insertion variants was not reported in available abstract data.,PFS is a surrogate endpoint; its magnitude of improvement does not confirm a survival benefit.,The absolute PFS difference of 2.8 months, while statistically significant, is modest in the context of an incurable malignancy, and clinical meaningfulness for individual patients will depend on tolerability and quality-of-life data not yet fully reported.,ECOG PS 0–1 requirement and exclusion of patients with leptomeningeal disease or recent cerebrovascular events limit real-world applicability to more frail or neurologically complex patients. __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ potentially_practice_informing __BOTTOM_LINE__ WU-KONG28 establishes that first-line sunvozertinib monotherapy (300 mg orally once daily) produces statistically and clinically superior PFS and ORR compared with carboplatin–pemetrexed chemotherapy in treatment-naive advanced nonsquamous NSCLC with EGFR exon 20 insertions, with a manageable safety profile and no treatment-related deaths. Overall survival data are immature, and direct comparison with amivantamab plus chemotherapy—the other evidence-based first-line option in this population—remains unavailable. Pending regulatory approval for the first-line indication, this trial positions sunvozertinib as a compelling chemotherapy-free oral monotherapy option, though clinicians should weigh individual patient factors, CNS disease burden, and the absence of OS data when deciding between available regimens.