Oncology · Medical Literature
Ensartinib in Resected ALK-Positive Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer.
Abstract
Anaplastic lymphoma kinase (ALK) inhibitors have emerged as promising agents for patients with resectable ALK-positive non-small-cell lung cancer (NSCLC). Whether ensartinib, a second-generation ALK inhibitor, is safe and effective in such patients is unknown. In this phase 3, double-blind, randomized trial involving patients with completely resected, ALK-positive stage IB to IIIB NSCLC after adjuvant chemotherapy, we randomly assigned patients in a 1:1 ratio to receive ensartinib at a dose of 225 mg once daily or placebo for 24 months. The primary end point was disease-free survival in patients with stage II to IIIB NSCLC. The key secondary end point was disease-free survival in the overall patient population. A total of 274 patients were randomly assigned to receive ensartinib or placebo (137 patients in each group). At 24 months, the percentage of patients with stage II to IIIB disease who were alive and disease-free was 86.4% in the ensartinib group and 53.5% in the placebo group (hazard ratio for disease recurrence or death, 0.20; 95% confidence interval [CI], 0.11 to 0.38; P<0.001). In the overall patient population, the percentage of patients who were alive and disease-free was 87.3% in the ensartinib group and 57.2% in the placebo group (hazard ratio, 0.20; 95% CI, 0.10 to 0.37; P<0.001). Overall survival data were immature. Adverse events of grade 3 or higher occurred in 35.8% of the patients who received ensartinib (most commonly rash) and in 18.2% of those who received placebo. Among patients with completely resected stage IB to IIIB ALK-positive NSCLC, the percentage of patients who were alive and disease-free at 24 months was significantly higher with ensartinib than with placebo. (Funded by Betta Pharmaceuticals; ELEVATE ClinicalTrials.gov number, NCT05341583.).
Clinical relevance
In patients with completely resected, ALK-positive stage IB–IIIB NSCLC following adjuvant platinum-based chemotherapy, does 24 months of adjuvant ensartinib (225 mg once daily) improve disease-free survival compared with placebo? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Phase 3, multicenter, double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled trial (ELEVATE; NCT05341583); interim analysis","setting":"56 medical centers across China","sampleSize":"n=274 (ensartinib: n=137, placebo: n=137); primary endpoint population (stage II–IIIB): ensartinib n=103, placebo n=102","population":"Adults with completely resected ALK-positive (by validated assay) stage IB–IIIB NSCLC who had completed any planned adjuvant platinum-based chemotherapy prior to randomization","intervention":"Ensartinib 225 mg orally once daily for up to 24 months (or until disease recurrence, unacceptable toxicity, or withdrawal of consent)","comparator":"Matched placebo orally once daily for up to 24 months","primaryOutcome":"Investigator-assessed disease-free survival (DFS) in patients with stage II–IIIB NSCLC","followUp":"Treatment duration up to 24 months; overall survival data immature at time of publication; exact median follow-up not reported in the abstract","fundingSource":"Industry (Betta Pharmaceuticals)"}
Key findings
PRIMARY ENDPOINT (Stage II–IIIB): The 24-month DFS rate was 86.4% with ensartinib vs. 53.5% with placebo (absolute difference: 32.9 percentage points [calculated]; HR for disease recurrence or death 0.20; 95% CI 0.11–0.38; P<0.001). The median DFS was not calculable (95% CI: not evaluable–not evaluable) in the ensartinib arm vs. 24.8 months (95% CI 22.2–not evaluable) in the placebo arm. The NNT to prevent one recurrence or death at 24 months in this subgroup is approximately 3 (calculated: 1/0.329). KEY SECONDARY ENDPOINT (Overall population, stage IB–IIIB): The 24-month DFS rate was 87.3% with ensartinib vs. 57.2% with placebo (absolute difference: 30.1 percentage points [calculated]; HR 0.20; 95% CI 0.10–0.37; P<0.001). The median DFS was not calculable in the ensartinib arm vs. 24.8 months (95% CI 22.2–not evaluable) in the placebo arm. DISEASE RECURRENCE: Recurrence occurred in 8.8% (12/137) of patients in the ensartinib group vs. 33.6% (46/137) in the placebo group in the overall population. The brain was the most common recurrence site (3.6% vs. 12.4%); ensartinib also significantly reduced CNS recurrence or death (HR 0.22; 95% CI 0.08–0.60). Consistent DFS benefit was observed across nearly all prespecified subgroups, though the trial was not powered for subgroup comparisons. OVERALL SURVIVAL: Data were immature at the time of this analysis, with only 3 deaths reported across the overall population; OS benefit cannot be established from this report. SAFETY: Grade ≥3 adverse events occurred in 35.8% of the ensartinib group vs. 18.2% of the placebo group (absolute difference: 17.6 percentage points [calculated]; NNH approximately 6 [calculated]). Any-grade adverse events occurred in 98.5% vs. 92.0%. The most common adverse event with ensartinib was rash (81.0%; grade ≥3: 14.6%), followed by elevated ALT and AST (45.3% each, grade not specified in the abstract). One fatal adverse event (cerebral hemorrhage) occurred in the ensartinib arm, not considered treatment-related. Treatment discontinuation due to adverse events was low at 2.2% in the ensartinib group.
Practice implications
The ELEVATE trial demonstrates a large, statistically significant, and clinically meaningful improvement in 2-year DFS with adjuvant ensartinib in completely resected ALK-positive NSCLC following chemotherapy—achieving an approximately 5-fold reduction in the hazard of recurrence or death (HR 0.20). The absolute benefit of ~33 percentage points in the stage II–IIIB primary population and a calculated NNT of ~3 represent a clinically substantial effect. The reduction in CNS recurrence is particularly noteworthy given the predilection of ALK-positive NSCLC for brain metastasis. IMPORTANT CAVEATS: (1) Overall survival data are immature (only 3 total deaths), so whether the DFS benefit translates into an OS benefit—the ultimate endpoint for adjuvant therapy—remains unknown. (2) The trial was conducted entirely at Chinese centers, and generalizability to non-Asian populations and to healthcare systems outside China is uncertain. (3) The study was sponsored by the drug's manufacturer (Betta Pharmaceuticals), introducing risk of reporting bias. (4) Only the abstract was available for this summary, limiting detailed assessment of randomization integrity, ALK detection methodology, stratification factors, and handling of missing data. (5) Grade ≥3 toxicity was roughly double that of placebo, and rash was highly prevalent (81%), which may affect adherence and quality of life in routine practice. (6) Whether 24-month DFS rates sufficiently reflect long-term cure remains to be established. These results parallel the adjuvant benefit seen with alectinib (ALINA trial) and osimertinib (ADAURA), supporting a class effect for targeted adjuvant therapy in oncogene-driven resected NSCLC. Practice change may be justified for eligible patients, but confirmatory OS data and regulatory approval for the adjuvant indication outside China are needed. A marketing application for the adjuvant indication has been submitted in China; the drug currently holds FDA approval only for the locally advanced/metastatic setting. __LIMITATIONS__ Overall survival data immature at interim analysis (only 3 deaths in 274 patients); DFS is a surrogate endpoint and OS benefit is not yet established.,Single-country trial (China, 56 centers only); ethnic and genomic generalizability to non-Asian populations is unknown.,Industry sponsorship by Betta Pharmaceuticals introduces potential for publication and reporting bias.,Investigator-assessed DFS (not blinded independent central review) may be susceptible to assessment bias, despite the double-blind design.,Trial not powered for subgroup analyses; subgroup consistency findings are exploratory only.,Relatively small sample size (n=274 overall; n=205 for primary endpoint) limits precision of subgroup estimates.,Follow-up duration relative to median DFS not explicitly reported in the abstract; the median DFS in the ensartinib arm was not reached, limiting interpretation of long-term outcomes.,Patients with stage IB disease were included in the overall (secondary) population but excluded from the primary endpoint; the benefit in stage IB specifically is uncertain.,Rash (81.0%) and liver enzyme elevations (45.3%) are common with ensartinib and may reduce real-world tolerability and adherence beyond trial conditions.,Only the abstract was available for this summary; detailed methodology, pre-specified statistical analysis plan, and full safety data could not be independently verified. __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ potentially_practice_informing __BOTTOM_LINE__ Adjuvant ensartinib (225 mg once daily for 24 months) produced a large and statistically robust improvement in 2-year DFS compared with placebo in patients with completely resected ALK-positive stage IB–IIIB NSCLC following chemotherapy (86.4% vs. 53.5%; HR 0.20), with a calculated NNT of approximately 3, including a meaningful reduction in CNS recurrence. However, overall survival data remain immature, the trial was conducted exclusively in China with industry sponsorship, and regulatory approval for the adjuvant indication is not yet established outside China—therefore, while these findings are compelling and may inform practice for eligible patients, confirmation of OS benefit and broader regulatory review are warranted before universal adoption.