Oncology · Medical Literature

High-dose furmonertinib as first-line treatment for untreated EGFR-mutated advanced NSCLC with central nervous system metastases: A phase 2 trial.

Abstract

Brain metastases in epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR)-mutated non-small cell lung cancer (NSCLC) frequently contribute to treatment failure. This phase II study aims to evaluate furmonertinib (160 mg daily) in 40 untreated patients with EGFR-mutant NSCLC and central nervous system (CNS) metastases. At a median follow-up of 18.66 months, the blinded independent central-review-assessed median progression-free survival (mPFS) and intracranial PFS are 16.59 months (95% confidence interval [CI]: 12.77-20.41) and 17.83 months (95% CI: 14.16-21.50), respectively. Systemic objective response rate (ORR) is 92.5%, and intracranial ORR is 95.0%, with consistent investigator assessments. Grade ≥3-treatment-related adverse events occur in 15.0% of patients. Exploratory profiling of paired plasma and cerebrospinal fluid reveals significant early molecular response, with high EGFR mutation clearance (85.7% plasma; 66.7% cerebrospinal fluid [CSF]). Furmonertinib shows promising intracranial efficacy with manageable safety as first-line treatment for EGFR-mutated NSCLC with CNS metastases. This study is registered at ClinicalTrials.gov (NCT05379803).

Clinical relevance

In previously untreated patients with EGFR-mutated advanced NSCLC and CNS metastases, does first-line furmonertinib at a high dose of 160 mg daily achieve clinically meaningful intracranial and systemic efficacy with an acceptable safety profile? __SNAPSHOT__ {"studyDesign":"Single-arm, multicenter, prospective phase II trial (NCT05379803)","setting":"China; multicenter (specific institutions not reported in abstract)","sampleSize":"n=40 (single arm; no comparator group)","population":"Treatment-naive adults with histologically or cytologically confirmed EGFR-mutated advanced NSCLC harboring CNS metastases; ECOG PS 0–1; expected survival ≥12 weeks","intervention":"Furmonertinib 160 mg orally once daily (high-dose; double the standard approved 80 mg first-line dose)","comparator":"Not applicable — single-arm study; no concurrent control","primaryOutcome":"Blinded independent central review (BICR)-assessed median progression-free survival (mPFS); intracranial PFS also reported","followUp":"Median follow-up: 18.66 months","fundingSource":"Not reported in abstract; prior conference presentations were supported by Shanghai Allist Pharmaceuticals Co., Ltd. (manufacturer of furmonertinib)"}

Key findings

In 40 previously untreated patients with EGFR-mutated advanced NSCLC and CNS metastases, furmonertinib 160 mg daily achieved a BICR-assessed median PFS (mPFS) of 16.59 months (95% CI: 12.77–20.41) and a median intracranial PFS of 17.83 months (95% CI: 14.16–21.50) at a median follow-up of 18.66 months. The systemic objective response rate (ORR) was 92.5% and the intracranial ORR was 95.0%, with concordant investigator-assessed results. Overall survival data were not reported in the abstract. No NNT or NNH can be calculated from this single-arm study without a concurrent comparator. Grade ≥3 treatment-related adverse events (TRAEs) occurred in 15.0% of patients (6 of 40; calculated). Exploratory biomarker profiling of paired plasma and cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) showed early EGFR mutation clearance in 85.7% of plasma samples and 66.7% of CSF samples, suggesting early molecular response. No treatment-related deaths or specific grade ≥3 adverse event types were detailed in the abstract.

Practice implications

This single-arm phase II trial demonstrates that high-dose furmonertinib (160 mg) produces high systemic and intracranial response rates and a median PFS of approximately 16–18 months in EGFR-mutated NSCLC with CNS metastases in the first-line setting. These findings are contextually notable because prior phase II data in the second-line EGFR T790M setting showed that 160 mg yielded a CNS PFS of 19.3 months versus 11.6 months at the standard 80 mg dose, suggesting a dose-dependent CNS effect. Preclinical data also indicate that furmonertinib and its active metabolite exhibit CNS penetration estimated to be substantially higher than osimertinib (brain-to-plasma ratio approximately 1.8-fold greater in pharmacokinetic studies). However, what this study does NOT establish includes: (1) superiority or non-inferiority versus osimertinib or other third-generation EGFR-TKIs, as there is no randomized comparator; (2) overall survival benefit; (3) the relative efficacy contribution of leptomeningeal versus parenchymal brain metastases subgroups; (4) outcomes by specific EGFR mutation subtype (Ex19del vs. L858R); and (5) durability of molecular response in CSF. The study population was limited to Chinese patients at Chinese centers with ECOG PS 0–1, limiting generalizability to Western populations, patients with poor performance status, or those with symptomatic/active CNS lesions requiring urgent local therapy. The 18.66-month median follow-up is relatively short for a first-line NSCLC trial; OS data are immature. Only an abstract is available for full review — the complete dataset, safety tables, and subgroup analyses have not been independently evaluated by this summary. Practice should not change based on this single-arm phase II study alone; confirmation in a randomized phase III trial comparing high-dose furmonertinib to standard-dose osimertinib or furmonertinib 80 mg in EGFR-mutated NSCLC with CNS metastases is required. __LIMITATIONS__ Single-arm design with no randomized control group; ORR and PFS cannot be meaningfully interpreted as superiority evidence versus osimertinib or standard-dose furmonertinib.,Small sample size (n=40) limits precision of all estimates and precludes reliable subgroup analyses.,Short median follow-up of 18.66 months; overall survival data not reported or mature.,Conducted exclusively in China at unspecified centers; generalizability to non-Asian populations is uncertain.,Potential selection bias inherent in single-arm studies enrolling ECOG PS 0–1 patients, excluding those with symptomatic or actively deteriorating CNS disease.,Biomarker findings (plasma and CSF EGFR mutation clearance rates) are exploratory, hypothesis-generating, and derived from paired samples in an undefined subset of 40 patients — denominator for clearance rates not stated in the abstract.,Only abstract available; complete safety data, specific grade ≥3 TRAE types, dose reduction rates, and discontinuation rates are not reported.,Funding source is not stated in the abstract but prior related work was sponsored by the manufacturer (Shanghai Allist Pharmaceuticals), representing a potential conflict of interest.,The 160 mg dose has not been directly compared to the approved first-line 80 mg dose in a randomized fashion in the first-line CNS-metastases setting.,Leptomeningeal vs. parenchymal brain metastasis breakdown is not reported, and these represent biologically and prognostically distinct entities. __BOTTOM_LINE_CATEGORY__ promising_but_preliminary __BOTTOM_LINE__ In this small, single-arm phase II trial in Chinese patients with EGFR-mutated advanced NSCLC and CNS metastases, first-line furmonertinib 160 mg daily produced high systemic (92.5%) and intracranial (95.0%) response rates and a median intracranial PFS of approximately 17.8 months, with grade ≥3 TRAEs in 15% of patients. These results are promising and mechanistically plausible given furmonertinib's superior CNS penetration versus other third-generation EGFR-TKIs, but the absence of a randomized comparator, small sample, immature OS data, and single-ethnic study population preclude practice change. A randomized phase III trial comparing high-dose furmonertinib to standard-of-care osimertinib in this specific population is needed before adoption into routine clinical practice.

Evidence appraisal

Evidence quality rating
5/10
Clinical applicability score
5/10